Steamed Cayenne Rubbed Tilapia with a Mango, Corn & Plum Salsa

Posted: 2011/07/16 in fruit, seafood

Yum. I love fresh chunky salsas, but all the cutting and dicing makes it super prohibitive to make at least for a lazy bum like me. I would buy the canned stuff, but well it tastes … canned, its just not the same. Sigh. Thus I’m forced to make my own. Generally when I do make salsas they’ve been pretty good, though there have been a few notable exceptions… but thats beside the point. I just got myself a new Tatung steam cooker (if you don’t know what it is click here or visit some traditional Taiwanese persons house) and I wanted to test out its steaming capabilities. I had a bunch of Tilapia fillets in the freezer so I just took one out and plopped it on a plate to steam. Tossed together a fruity salsa and presto dinner was done. This probably would have tasted better in taco form, but alas no tortillas or tortilla chips.

Steamed Cayenne Rubbed Tilapia
Ingredients:
1 tilapia fillet
cayenne powder
red pepper flakes
salt
black pepper

Directions:
1. Rub the spices all over the front and back of the Tilapia
2. Steam the Tilapia till cooked through

Mango, Corn & Plum Salsa
Ingredients:
1 diced large ripe mango
1 cup cooked corn kernels
1 diced small black plum
salt
cayenne

Directions:
1. Toss everything together and season to taste

Comments
  1. AV says:

    Finally, pictures are starting to be decent :P

Leave a Reply

